Week Twelve – Quail Eggs

This week began with a sobering realization…  It was the realization that I was slipping behind with my scheduled new food a week plan.

As the calendar ticked into its seventeenth week, I was only tucking into my twelfth new food.  This meant that I was five items behind schedule.  Disaster!

I immediately started to worry that I had set an unsustainable challenge.  Had I bitten off more than I could chew?  Was I spending too much time thinking of shockingly bad food-related puns and trying to set food-related world records (Yes, I had to mention it!) to be able to keep up with my exciting fifty-two new foods in a year journey?  Was this just another one of those things I decide to do and then fail at because I am one of life’s gifted procrastinators and non-finishers?

Probably…

But where’s the fun in just eating a new food and writing that I had just eaten a new food?

“Week Eight – I have just eaten a weevil spleen.  Next week I will eat something else.”

Also, where’s the fun in conducting self-psycho-analysis and coming up with the depressing conclusion that I am a time-waster who never sees anything through to the end?

Answer:  There is no fun at all.  I will eat fifty-two new foods – It might just take me a few more weeks than planned…  Apologies if you had made other plans for 2014.

This week I have spent two minutes eating Quail Eggs and about three days creating a picture of the Solar System in egg form.  Apologies to the late, great Sir Patrick Moore for a horrific bastardisation of astronomy for my efforts…

The Ova System

Surprisingly, this is not to scale…

Quails of the Unexpected’ – Interesting Facts About Quail Eggs

  • Quail Eggs are small – But you probably already knew that.
IMG_2533

Note the coincidental backdrop…

  • They are laid by quails – Again, I’m guessing you knew that too.
Quail Male

Quail Male – The bird equivalent of sending a letter by post?

  • You can prepare them much the same way as you would any other egg – boil, fry, scramble etc. – but it takes less time to do so.

IMG_2548

IMG_2602

IMG_2683

  • They taste pretty much like chicken eggs.
Not quite sure why I felt the need to put a fried egg in my hand

Not quite sure why I felt the need to put a fried egg in my hand…

Yep, you’ve got me…  If I’m honest, I’m not sure if I can tell you much about quail eggs that’s new information to you.   And, unusually, Wikipedia wasn’t able to help me with much of note – Aside from the fact that they are seen as a delicacy in Western Europe, but significantly less exclusive in South America and South-East Asia.

As a Westerner, I felt obliged to serve my quail eggs in style...

As a Westerner, I felt obliged to serve my quail eggs in style…

If anyone knows an interesting quail egg fact, please put it in the comments box below…

Thank you!

See you next week – Or in two weeks if my procrastinatory ways kick in…

Leave a comment